February 7, 2010

  • Still here!

    I’m having a hard time blogging while in the US.  I don’t know what it is……I just don’t really want to be attached to my computer right now.  If you think my blog is bad, you should see my email inbox! :)   

    Alas, I figured it was time for an update! I have over 700 pictures on my camera card……I’ve not even downloaded them on my computer! Crazy! 

    In January we spent much of our time resting with my family in Illinois. My sister hosted us and did a wonderful job of keeping her kitchen stocked full of junk food, which we took care of!  Drat!  Oh well!  Kev watched plenty of Sci Fi, and I watched lots of HGtv and played cards with Lexi.  We got involved in Wednesday Mens/Ladies bible studies and really enjoyed seeing everyone again.  It was wonderful to just rest a bit and be with my family. We had Sunday dinners every Sunday while we were there and it was so nice!  We caught up on our doctor and dentist appointments and I caught up with some old friends. 

    On January 28th we loaded a very full car (VERY FULL CAR!) and started our traveling again.  We spent one night with Patricia and Jeremiah Bryant in Arkansas.  The Bryant’s used to work along side of us at LBOM and it was SO wonderful to see them after almost two years.  The girls are precious and I finally got to hug on Journey.  Tshiamo and Libby are so big.  With 5 kids all under the age of 5 in their small house it was…..Crazy!!!!  At the same time though, it was such a blessing to kick back and just watch those kids play!  I miss those guys so much, but God is doing so much in their lives! 

    With word of nasty weather hot on our heals, we headed out early (bummer!) and made our way to Oklahoma to see our beloved Serena and her family in Durant.  We made it just in the nick of time with the weather turning to snow and ice.  Shortly after we arrived they lost power and we were in the dark for the rest of the night!  While a bit chilly, it was so nice to just catch up over candlelight and Chili’s To go! :)   We loved meeting Serena’s mom and dad and also seeing Sierra too!  Andrew took only a moment to warm up and then he was Serena’s shadow for the next 4 days!  We went to Chuck- E- Cheese and the ladies blessed me with a surprise Pedicure!  Our weekend together went too fast, but was so wonderful! 

    Before we knew it, we loaded up a very full car again and headed 2 hours to Dallas where we set up camp at Christ for the Nations Bible school.  We arrived Sunday evening to a small apartment on campus that was set up with a goodie basket and more in the fridge!  Andrew tore into the chips and cookies!  What a lifesaver!  The following morning we spoke in their Missions Class and met with Rod Groomer and Scoot Cowley to talk about the Internship program.  We’re so blessed to have this partnership with CFNI!  We caught up with Brad and Josiah as well, two of our former interns!  Was good to see how the Lord was working in the guys lives!  We also connected with some friends that lived just outside of Dallas and stayed in their beautiful home for one night.  The next day Kelly packed up a picnic and we headed to their ranch to see the horses and cows.  It was so beautiful, but also so cold!  Every other time we’ve been to Texas during this time it’s been warm.  Now, it’s cold! 

    On Wednesday we packed up again! and headed to Katy Texas to stay with our friend Erin and John White. (Linda our administrator in Botswana, her daughter and son in law).  They took us for our first Tex Mex at Chuy’s and it was so yummy!  Once again, it was kid central, but they did great and played very well together.  The next day we chilled out and Erin and Lauren too me to a Mommy shop where I oohed and aahed over diaper bags and cloth diapers! :)   Before we knew it, we were back in the car and heading to Tomball to see my best friend Mo!  We only had a short amount of time together our last visit so we stayed two nights with her and her girls…..Ellizabeth and Olivia.  (Husband Pat was flying……bummer!)  It was great to catch up and have the kids play.  On Friday we took them to a park and Andrew had a blast playing on the slides, feeding the ducks and nutria rats!  I think more than anything he just enjoyed being outside!  It was a bit chilly, but the sun was shining!  It was great seeing Mo again……miss her so much!  She and I had a great time living together in college!

    And now, we’re basing in Pasadena for the next week and a few days with our “Aunt Kim”, John Emerick’s aunt.  We love being here with her and she spoils us all rotten with her wonderful homemade cookin!  We have lots of meetings and speakings, but we’re also visiting with a lot of friends as well.  The really great thing is we missed all that snow in Virginia!  Yes, I am excited that we missed all that snow!  I’ll be honest…….I am done with snow and I am ready for some spring weather!  Texas has proven to be pretty chilly these days!  We’ll be back in Virginia on the 20th and there for the next month. 

    So as you can see…..we’ve been busy!  We’ve not slept in the same bed for more than two days since the end of January!  Fun stuff!  The kids are doing really great with all the travel though.  Sure is interesting with two kiddos, but they are good so that helps!  By the time it’s over with, they will be pros and Kev and I are pros at packing! :)   

    Well…..that’s a bit of an update.  Will try to post pictures soon!!  Thanks for hanging around!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *