December 19, 2009

  • Winter Blahhhhhhhhhhssss

    I often joke about how Botswana has 360 days of  sunshine.  I like my gloom and rainy days and I miss them while I am in Botswana…..a lot actually.  Since being back we’ve had a lot of gloomy winter days.  Days where if I didn’t have kids I would just throw back the covers over my head and sleep all day.  Wait….maybe that’s the jet lag a talkin’!  I swear, I’ve never taken this long to adjust to the time change.  I think having two little ones who seem to be on very different sleeping tracks and then gallivanting off to Orlando two days after we traveled 3 long days to get to the USA, did me in!  Stick a fork in me……I was (and still am!) done!  Combine that all with the gloomy days and you have a bit of a grumpy Sarah! 

    Yes, Sarah gets grumpy. 

    On Wednesday I was feeling pretty stressed at the fact that I really hadn’t slept so good.  I wanted to just jump in the car and drive home to Illinois alone, without Kevin, and without kids and just let my mommy take care of me.  Of course I couldn’t do that…….also my mom would probably kill me for not bringing the kids with me! :)   ha!  Instead I stole away to Target for 3 hours and shopped……alone.  I grabbed a Starbucks and I think I strolled every isle in that bloody store.  I could have stayed longer, but my cart was getting fuller by the moment so I packed it in.  I also hit the Chick Fil A on the way home and ate lunch in the restaurant so I could steal a few more moments of silence.  However I didn’t realize that Chick Fil A is actually mommy central!  (More on this in a minute!)  I wish I could say my shopping trip cured me, but it really didn’t……I am still grumpy. 

    Yes, Sarah gets grumpy and when she is grumpy everything annoys her! 

    I’ll be honest….I am ready to get to my family.  I am ready to have them hug and love on me.  I am ready for it all…..I AM READY!  I have one week left and that week feels like it will be the longest week ever!  Throw Christmas in the mix and that might make it go a bit faster.  I’ve also go some things planned for meet ups with friends in effort to get the week to go a bit faster.  However we’re sitting on  20 in of snow right now so I am wondering if I will go anywhere for a while! :)  

    And on a total side note….remember my chick fil a?

    On Thursday Kev and I decided to take Andrew into Chick Fil A for lunch and to run around on the indoor playground.  Kev’s mom and dad decided to join us so we packed up and headed in.  Once again it was mommy central!  I guess we weren’t the only ones with that idea!   As we were sitting there I started chatting with a few of the other moms around.  Before I knew it, Kev and I struck up a convo with one of the moms sitting behind us and really hit it off well!  All this to say that we have a “play date” scheduled for next Tuesday!  I have a play date!!! I am so excited to finally have a play date with another toddler mommy!!!  This truly was a divine appointment as we share a lot of the same interests.  Fun!  Who knew?!  (Also, if you’ve not tried their Peppermint Chocolate Chip Milkshake…..it’s heaven!) 

    So I am trying to beat the blahs.  I think all that sunshine in Bots makes you never get the winter blues.  I’m tellin ya……I am longing to be out in the midwest where I can have the winter blues with my mommy around! :)  

Comments (1)

  • Just want to say you don’t know me but I have a feeling we lead similar lives. I am a missionary mom serving in Mozambique with two boys (although my kids are older -10 & 12). We are here in Africa and did go home for Christmas and won’t until 2011. But in this post you wrote my dream day once I arrive back. A leisurely, kid and husband free shop through Target (my favorite store that I miss severely here in Moz) and a stop off at Chick-Fil-A (oh I love that place and that milkshake). Anyway, got your site from the missionary mom blog link. Pray you have a restful, fun, interesting and refreshing time in the US. ANDREA PAVKOV, Missionary Mom in Mozambique

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *