January 25, 2009

  • Third Trimester……

    So I’ve discovered there are a lot of things you forget about pregnancy once it’s over with.  I am also amazed at how quickly you remember them once you go through it a second time.  The only problem is no one really tells you that those things come earlier with second babies and I am sure to believe that with third and forth babies they come even soon.  (Mom’s wanting more than one….remember this, I am telling you!!!) 

    I remember at about 30 weeks with Andrew that’s when things started to get interesting.  Actually I specifically remember at 33-34 weeks starting to get Braxton Hicks.  Now with this one I’ve started those at about 24 weeks but let me tell you they have been getting more and more intense as the weeks come.  This is just a reminder that my body is gearing up for the final finale whenever that might be. 

    I also have constant heartburn.  It doesn’t matter at this point what I eat or don’t eat……it’s just always there.  Tums was my friend, but Tums abandoned me and no longer works. I have to go for the big guns…..the Pepcid pill.  It’s part of my routine to take this pill at around 5pm.  If I don’t, I wake in the night feeling that my esophagus is on fire and it actually causes me to choke.  Thankfully I have enough of these pills to last till the baby comes…….once she is here I will be in the clear!

    For the sake of men who read my blog, I won’t got into detail of the lovely pressure that I feel “down below”.  Let’s just say baby girl has been kicking my pubic bone for the past two months leaving parts not feeling so well.  I’ll leave that one to your imagination.  There is much more I could say on this subject of down below, but I will refrain. :)  

    Sleep at night is always interesting as well.  I can’t fully roll over in bed without sitting up first and then repositioning.  You would think I should just be able to roll over, but no dice.  I’ve got a system that makes this easier, but it’s pretty annoying.  Then there are numerous trips to the bathroom……I am lucky if I only have to get up once in the night.  Usually this is when braxton hicks makes his appearance too so often with the tightness and whatnot it’s just easier to get up and sit in the rocker for a bit. 

    And the new one, that just joined in on the crowd a few days ago is my hips!  Because I can only sleep on my sides and my belly is getting bigger by the week, my hips are killing at night.  I just woke up from a two hour nap (because I didn’t sleep well the night before) and my hips were screaming! 

    About the only one who hasn’t come to join in on the fun is swelling.  I am sure he will make his apperance too.  For now I am still able to wear my normal shoes and wedding ring.  We’ll see how long that lasts……

    If all this sounds like complaining, I swear I don’t mean it to come off that way.  I am grateful as all get out for this little one inside of me.  I am continously amazed at how my body functions to accomodate her as uncomfortable as it may be at times.  I watch my belly roll and shift all over and know that there is life inside of me.  I also know that it’s all temporary.  That just like Andrew I will forget all those little things once I hold her in my arms and kiss her sweet face. 

    Till then….I am praising God that He designed the system the way He did and that we don’t start off with 7lb babies at the first month and carry them that way for 9 months…….I just have to run the race a bit longer……..

Comments (7)

  • i think its interesting that all the “joys” of pregnancies are referred to as males :o )
    im sorry youre in the midst of it all. ugh, i think the rolling over/hips thing was one of the worst parts for me. the last couple months it would literally bring me to tears trying to roll over in bed it hurt my hips and lower back so much. i hated night time.
    maybe you wont swell at all this time!
    good luck

  • Eek! The reminders!

  • My hips hurt just thinking about the third trimester.  Hope it gets better as you do your “victory lap” for this pregnancy!  :)

  • @youreso_pretty - I know…..I too hate night time and the thought of going to bed. Mainly because i never know how my night will go.  Most of the time it’s not very restful.  I do however enjoy my afternoon naps when I get them! :)  

  • my hips were terrible too….oh, and the heart burn was AWFUL!

    BUT – I did tell you that things happen sooner the second time – I SWEAR I DID! LOL  Love ya,
    mo

  • @Elizabeths_Mommy - Yes you did Mo!!!!  Sorry, I should give you credit for that…..you did tell me!!  Maybe I just didn’t really believe you? :)   I do now!!! :) ha!   I think you had hip pain worse than I did though.  I am praying it doesn’t get worse!

  • Aish! Not fun… not looking forward to all this! LOL

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *