Uncategorized

  • Just like mommy….

    So now it’s my turn!  A few posts back I posted a picture about Andrew wearing Kev’s hat.  Now Andrew is all daddy’s boy.  He cries when Kev leaves.  If he gets a boo-boo and Kev’s around, he goes to Kev.  Kev hangs the moon for Andrew……..and I love it!  I am hoping that Baby girl Witt has the same affection for her mommy, but if she’s a daddy’s girl too that’s okay. 

    Anyway……

    There are a few things that Andrew does that is just me!  One being that he hates having his feet covered.  He doesn’t mind wearing sock and shoes, but don’t cover those feet!  I am the same way.  Often Kev finds me under the covers to my neck, but my bare feet sticking out!  The other day Andrew got on the couch, snuggled in with Pooh and poked his feet out the end of the blanket.  Kev said, “Who’s that look like?” 

    Then when he gets really comfortable he moves his feet around.  He’s always done this, even inside of me.  What is strange is that I do the same thing.  Often times in bed I circle my feet around or rub them on each other.  Andrew does the same thing! :)  

    I guess my son does have some of my attributes…….but it’s all feet related! :)

    Giving baby sister a pat!

    28 weeks! 

    Big boy bed is going well, but we still have minor battles. One morning I woke up and he was in his crib!  We still have no idea how he managed to crawl into the crib……seriously, it’s baffled us, but he hasn’t done it again.  My favorite thing to do is jump into Andrew’s bed and cuddle with him.  He loves this.  Of course I can hardly get out of that bed once I do, so sometimes I just snooze right along with him.  The other afternoon he threw his arm around my neck and cuddled in close.  He looked up and gave me a kiss right on the lips and laid back down again…….ah, it warmed my heart! 

  • Last New Years Day……

    I spent a very wet and chilly (but turned into a sunny and not so cold day) with some girls in New York City.  Since it was so yucky out we decided to leave the boys at home and brave the streets on our own.  Actually my fantastic hubby volunteered to stay with Andrew as it was too cold to take him out.  I can honestly say that was one of the best days I had…….sometimes you just need some time with your girlfriends!

    New York City never disappoints…….

    And who else better to pose with “celebrities” than your girlfriends?

     


    Twlya, Brick’s mom didnt’ skip a beat…….she’s a “cool mom”. :)   Happy Birthday Twlya!!!

    We had a rockin good time last year……..Miss you ladies!!!

    Sorta crazy that we’re all on different continents this year…….

  • Happy New Year!!!

    So I sit here just a mere 40 min away from midnight and I wonder where the heck 2008 went!  I honestly can’t say that there was anything spectacular about this past year, other than it did bring growth and change to alot of areas of my life which is always a good thing.  But really……..where did it go?  I think as I get older the years go faster! 

    Village Church tradition is to set off a bunch of fireworks to ring in the New Year.  Now in Botswana, you can get some serious Fireworks just right in the store!  Ones that would probably be way illegal in the US!  Because my husband is a pyro he’s put in charge of the “show” every year we are here.  Last week he went “firework shopping” and came back with all of this…….

    This is not even all of it.  I couldn’t even get pics of all the big massive ones he brought not to mention a bag full of sparklers and “infuagos”  (yes Jon, we think of you every time!!! these things are LOUD and will blow off an arm easily!!)  My pyro hubby was like a kid in a candy store and had a smile on his face that could light up the sky.  I was really looking forward to seeing what some of this big guys could do, but alas………

     

    Poor Bugga Boo didn’t make it.  I did get to go to church for a bit this evening which was nice.  I was hoping to come home and find him still awake so we could go and watch the fireworks, but no nap and 11pm caught up with him.  I couldn’t in good consious wake him up so that we could go see fireworks that would most likely scare him.  He didn’t even put up a fight when we put him in the bed. 

    So here I sit……it’s quiet, Big Man’s at the door, and it’s about 30 min till 2009.  I am ready………and hoping that Kev saves one of those big fireworks for me! :)  

  • No resolutions for me……

    I gave up making New Year’s Resolution’s years ago.  One year Kev and I committed to go to the gym and started in January.  Well I think everyone and their dog decided that they were going to do that as well as the gym was packed!  I mean really……..

    I read a blog post a few days ago that really struck a cord with me.  The writer talked about we always tend to make resolutions that aren’t really us or things that we aren’t really motivated to change.  As I read this I realized how true it is.  After going through the first round of my coach training this past year I’ve learned that the power to change lays with us  While we might decided to change something because someone asked us or because it’s normal…..it’s not really who WE are.  When we find something that motivates us and something that we really want to work on, we make effort to change it.  When it’s something that we don’t really want to do, we make every effort and excuse NOT to work on it and then say, “Oh we’ll start fresh next year!” 

    Don’t His mercies become NEW EVERY morning? I praise Him for fresh starts, fresh grace, and fresh mercy that is new every morning.  I praise Him that as I seek Him, He reveals what I need to work on and gives me motivation and the grace to change.  Sure I have things I want to accomplish in 2009 but they aren’t resolutions…..they are things that I know the Lord is dealing with inside of me, and with His grace and mercy I know that I can achieve those things……as hard or as painful as it might be at times. 

    So think outside the traditional box of resolutions…….what do you want for 2009? 

    Praying that each of you have a safe and Happy New Year!  I know for us 2009 will bring an extra blessing to our family, one of which I can’t wait to meet!!! 

  • Coffee Date….


    **Thanks Patricia for this photo…..it made me smile and was appropriate for today’s post!
    http-equiv=”Content-Type” content=”text/html; charset=utf-8″> name=”ProgId” content=”Word.Document”> name=”Generator” content=”Microsoft Word 11″> name=”Originator” content=”Microsoft Word 11″>

     

    So have you ever wished you could go on a Coffee Date with God?  I mean, I’ve had some “dates” with Him, but I mean in real life…..like face to face.  I often wonder what God would order at Starbucks.  I sorta see Him as a Venti strong coffee…..black.  Or maybe even a Café Mocha to switch things up a bit.  Me, I would order my Gingerbread Latte and we would make our way to the back with those big comfy couches.  We would settle in and He would smile and say, “So my dear…..how have you been?”  He wouldn’t say much, but I would do most of the talking.  

     

    Last night I had a heart to heart with God.  It wasn’t over coffee but I was in my rocker which right now is about the only comfortable seat in my house now that I am pregnant.  A few posts back I talked about feeling anxious.  Well I still feel that way.  I remember that Sunday School Song, “Cast your burdens, onto Jesus, for He cares for you…..”  (Are you singing it?) and so I knew that’s exactly what I had to do.  While they weren’t “burdens” per se, they were more worries, but I know He takes those too.

     

    While I’ve been through a pregnancy in Botswana before, the whole process is still a bit scary for me.  Everything seems to be going smooth so far but some Braxton Hicks and pressure really got me wondering, “What if…..”  I shared with the Lord how scared I was about the thought of 1. Going into pre-term labor and 2. Going into labor in Maun.  While there is a brand new shiny hospital not far from my house (more on that in a later post) the thought of having the baby here still terrifies me…….and I’ve been through it before!  So like I child, I just shared my heart and His response was simple…….Trust! 

     

    He reminded me of the time that I shared with a women’s bible study while I was home in Altamont (Ladies….I love you and cherish your friendship and prayers!!) about how trusting Him was easier for me in Africa than it is in America.  They asked about medical care and if I was worried about the quality of the care in a third world country.  Without even flinching I said, “I trust Him…..I have too!”  My faith is tested every day here and my faith is strengthened because of it!  So in the end…..I have to trust Him and His plan and His ways. 

     

    He began to just speak to my heart about how He is in control and that I do have to trust Him with the entire plan.  While there is a lot of un-known to me, He knows the known!  And even more so, He knows how much I can handle!  (Which is often times way more than I give myself credit for!) 

     

    So today….my heart is lighter.  Sometimes it’s good to just have a date with God…..coffee or no coffee!   

  • Big boy bed update……

    So I thought I “uploaded” a bunch of pictures from Christmas only to find out that they didn’t go thru……oh well.  I will try again later! 

    So the big boy bed has been a bit of a challenge, but overall I think Andrew is doing very well.  He understands that he must stay in the bed, but cries a lot because he doesn’t really want to be in the bed.  Last night he was grabbing books off the shelf and “reading”.  Kev and I don’t mind the reading part of it as long as he’s quiet.  He then started fussing again so I thought I would try laying with him a bit to see if that helped.  He loved me being in there with him, but I think it was too fun because mommy was in there so I decided I better leave.  When I got up he started fussing and saying “Mommy, down” and patting the bed. I cracked the door and then sat in the rocker.  He seemed to do better knowing he could see me and that the door was open.  Finally after midnight (about 3 hours after we laid him down) he fell asleep.  As 4:30am I woke up to hear him stirring around.  I went to the bathroom and then came out and listened quietly and heard him come to the door and knock and say, “Co-co”. (That’s what they say here…..it’s like Knock Knock).  I opened it up and told him we had to go lay back down.  I thought again maybe it would help if I laid with him, but it didn’t.  He was just awake (I wasn’t though!). I did the same thing and cracked the door and sat in the chair.  He seemed to do better with this but still wasn’t sleeping.  I even got him his milk because he kept asking for it.  Then Kev woke up about 5:30am and took his turn while I went back to sleep. So many times I just wanted to put him back in the crib and close the door, but I know that we have to be firm with him and consistent.  It’s like sleep training him all over again.  I know he’ll get it, but we have to keep firm.  When you’re sleepy……it’s hard to do that, but I know he’ll get it.  Right now he’s napping just fine, but I had to lay with him for a bit to start.  I don’t want to get into that habit, but looking at it from his perspective I am sure it is a bit scary.  So far he’s not fallen out so that’s good! 

    We re-arranged our living room today.  I am not sure that I like it but we’re trying it for a few days before we move it back.  It gave Andrew a lot more room to run and play around so I think he likes it.  I think I probably over did it a bit because I’ve been having some braxton hicks off an on.  I feel like it’s too soon to be getting those but have been getting them off and on now for about 6 weeks. 

    So that’s today……….

  • Changes……

    So it’s hard to believe that my “baby” will be turning 2 years old in less than a month.  I mean really, where the heck did the time go?  I now believe people when they say “enjoy every moment” because those moments come and go FAST! 

    I remember when we moved Andrew into his crib at just 6 weeks old.  He slept in a pack and play in our room those first few weeks.  I remember him looking so small in that crib and how strange it felt to have him in his own room. I hardly slept a wink that night, but he slept through the whole night!!  Yes, my kiddo started sleeping through the night at just 6 weeks old.  (I can only pray that his little sister will follow the same pattern!) 

    Now that we’re closing in on little sis’ arrival we wanted to start transitioning Andrew into a big bed so that sis could use the crib.  The thought of the two of them sharing a room makes me shudder…..I have no idea how it’s going to work, but in the end I know it all will.  We were fortunate enough to be able to borrow a toddler bed from the Mission and Kev moved it in earlier today.  We had to do some major shifting as the room isn’t that big, but I think we came up with a plan.  We made a big deal out of the bed and even put his special Cars (or Speed) bedding.  He crawled right up into that bed with Pooh, like nothing.  We had a bit of a battle (mainly due to some tummy issues) and even busted him playing quietly on the floor with some toys, but all in all…..he’s taking his first nap in the bed.


    I’ll admit, I got just as sentimental as I did with the crib. The thought of him not sleeping in it anymore…uh. And now in that big bed, he looks so small again…….. 

    I guess we’ll see what happens tonight…..hopefully we won’t have a roamer around the house! :)  

  • Like Father, Like Son……

    So since arriving in Botswana almost 5 years ago, Kev’s always had a hat to help protect him from the sun.  He’s not a hat type of guy but we’ve managed to find one that looks good on him.  Since he’s not in the maintenance department anymore he rarely wears it, but every once and while it makes it’s appearance.  The other day Kev was working outside and pulled out the hat……..

    And this morning, someone wanted to be just like daddy………

    Now if I would have put this hat on him, he would have tore it off with reckless abandon, but on his own he wore it most of the morning while pushing his wagon around the house!  Too cute!  Just like dad! 

  • Holiday Blog Plug….

    I just wanted to do a little Holiday Blog Plug for my friend and fellow missionary, Maureen! 

    Maureen moved to Israel just a few months ago and is serving as a missionary there.  She has her work cut out for her and I’ve enjoyed following along in her journey as she discovers all the Israel has to hold.  She’s even learning Hebrew!!  (I guess I really need to get on my Setswana now!!!)

    This week though she showcasing the Jewish Holiday, Chanuka or Hanukkah as most of us know it.  I think you’ll find her tidbits very interesting as I know most of them I didn’t know.  I love learning about other cultures and traditions so I eagerly await Maureen’s posts about Chanuka! 

    Mo, hope you don’t mind…..I’m plugging your site today because it’s just too good to not! :)  

    So go here and learn a little something….you won’t be sorry! :)  

    http://moweezle.wordpress.com/

  • Hustle and Bustle….

    I made a mistake…….

    I went into town today!  You see, even all the way on the other side of the planet people are preparing for Christmas.  Sure there’s no snow on the ground, or pretty Christmas decorations to look at, but there still is the hustle and bustle of the season.  I’ll admit, I would take the hustle and bustle in America over Africa any day.  But…..here the hustle and bustle is different.  It’s not about buying the latest holiday toy or finding the perfect gift……it’s all about family.  People go to the grocery store and stock up on tons of food to take to the cattle posts so they can eat and just spend time with their families.  If you ask many people what their holiday plans are they will smile and say, “We’re going to the cattle post….our whole family is coming!” 

    So as I braved the isles and the busy roads I couldn’t help but think that even in this dusty village town that they have it right.  Christmas is so much more than just gifts, but it’s about being together with family and friends and focusing on the real reason for the season!