October 8, 2009

  • October…..bah!

    I miss October’s in the US.  I’ve been craving pumpkin something all week……..

    Fall is my favorite time of the year!  I love everything about it…….pumpkins, sweaters, leaves crunching, apple crisp, and Halloween.  It also means that Thanksgiving quickly follows which is my favorite holiday. 

    Now October in Botswana is so far on the other side of the spectrum.  While ya’ll are pulling out your winter clothes, I am pulling out my summer clothes.  October here brings on the heat and days that seems like they last forever.  In addition it seems like every October brings with it water shortages.  You can never quite predict when there will be water in your tap or not.  Just when I start getting used to it being regular, it goes out again.  Hot weather and no water equals well you get the idea……stinky! 

    My best friend Amy and her husband Damian came to visit me last year during this time.  I remember how wonderful it was to have “family” here during this drab time.  She filled her bags with cans of Pumpkin and Pumpkin Spice Bath and Body Works stuff just so I could feel like fall.  She and Damian experienced Botswana in it’s prime as it was HOT HOT HOT and we were in the process of filling the schools swimming pool which meant big time water shortages on top of regular water shortages!  They also experienced the teasing rains that come and go before they stick around for good in December.  I was so grateful that they came……I was feeling so homesick at that time.  As I reflect on last year I still smile…..oh how I wish they were coming again this year. 

    As I look at the calendar though I realize that two months from today I’ll be in the US.  I will miss Thanksgiving, but I will deal……that might be a whole nother post. :)   At least I’ll get my Gingerbread Latte in the Red Cup at Starbucks……you can bet that is the FIRST thing I am doing after I clear customs in the airport! :)  

Comments (3)

  • will you and the other americans have your own thanksgiving there in botswana??

    im sorry for missing fall here, that would be hard for me too.BUT youll be home for christmas, right? how long will you be in the states?

  • I so know you feelings. I am going to miss Thanksgiving and Christmas this year, but thankfully I am in the US and getting my fill of pumpkin prior to the actual holiday.

    We love you guys!

  • @youreso_pretty - We will be home for Christmas!  Heading home December 7th- April 26th!  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *