October 9, 2009

  • I’m feelin it!

    Paul says to be content in all things.  Wow…..I have to really ponder on that verse sometimes……especially when I am not content! :)   Of course it’s easy to be content when all is going well, but with the pressure is on……I get irritable and grouchy! 

    I’m feeling the fact that I am in a 3rd world country very much this week.  This really hasn’t been the greatest of weeks in many ways…..

    • The Mission vehicles have really been under attack!  The combi van that we use for the school and also the internship was hit and is now down.  Pastor Jerry’s brand new shiny (and beautiful!) Jeep was broadsided the same day while they were getting ready to cross on the ferry into Mohembo to check on the rural churches.  One of our interns Brad was along and quite amazingly they didn’t get hurt…..it could have been bad.  The Lackey’s other vehicle is in the shop for repairs due to another small accident a few months ago.  In addition Linda’s transmission is out on her car so hers is down too!  Our vehicles are so precious to us.  Without them we really feel it.  In the US you can get a car repaired fairly quickly, in Botswana…..it’s a slow process that can leave vehicles down for months if not even longer! 
    • Our water situation is pretty dire.  It’s not just our property, it’s really the whole village is feeling a water shortage.  Being that we’re now in the 100 degree season not having water is really no fun.  Not to mention when you have kids, cloth diapers, and bottles that need to be washed.  Like everyone here, I have a good system to reserve water.  When you have to watch what you use, you’re amazed at how much actually goes to waste! 
    • Our power has been pretty crazy too.  One day a few weeks ago we were without power for about 15 hrs!  Praise the Lord it was a cooler day so it really wasn’t bad.  The past few weeks it will just click off randomly…..sometimes for a few hours at a time.  No power means no fans or AC.  That mixed with the fact of no water really can make a person grumble! 
    • And the last one…..and this one might sound really petty, but I could really go for a Starbucks! :)   ha!  I wish I could just roll up to one and order a Pumpkin Spice Latte or maybe in this case, a Frozen Pumpkin Spice Latte and just enjoy!  Okay….so now you know what some missionaries dream of. :)   Throw in a Chick-fil-A  sandwich and you’ll find me content in all things even without power and water! :)   hehehe

    Oh well, I will be content in all things, or at least try to be!  After all, my being here is not about me…….

Comments (1)

  • And I can’t wait to get there. What’s wrong with me? lol. when you guys come visit, i’ll get ya all the pumkin spice lattes you want.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *