November 30, 2009

  • Christmas shopping on the lawn!

    So my friend Mike from Zimbabwe called me the other day to ask if anyone on the property was interested in purchasing some curios and boutiques for the holiday’s.  He knew we were getting ready to head home and that we usually like to see what he has. 

    I met Mike and his friend Jonathan about 4 years ago when they came to sell things at the Mission.  Times were really hard in Zim and they were just trying to make ends meet.  I usually am not interested in what people have to sell, after all I’ve seen it all and most of it is the same thing.  Mike’s things were different though…..not the usual wooden elephants or hippos, but hand painted items.  What I loved most about Mike was that he never pressured and his prices were usually always fair. We stuck up a friendship over the years and now whenever he’s in town he always sends me a message saying he’s around.  He also gives me great deals for organizing buyers and has often given me gifts as thank you’s. 

    Yesterday I told him that we had several people visiting and some leaving so to come on over and set up and see what happened.  I was hoping that one or two would buy just to give him the business, but before I knew it my yard was turned into a Christmas Bazaar and my lovely neighbors came to check it out! 


    Boutiques on the lawn…..all hand painted


    Beaded Ornaments! 


    These were some of the most creative I’ve ever seen!  Santa Boots, Gifts, Angels, and round balls and bells! 


    Mike and Brad doing some negotiating! 


    Andrew and his little chair.  He was so good during the whole thing.


    Putting some ornaments in his secret compartment……don’t worry we made sure to check this before Mike left! :)


    Sweet Patricia from church holding Piper (note she’s chewing on two angels!).  She adores Piper and was quite thrilled to hold her the whole time while I shopped.


    I didn’t get the lighting right on this photo because of the contrast of both of their skin, but I loved Patricia’s face and Piper’s BLUE eyes!   (Nice legs Dietra! :) )

    Despite the fact that it was HOT HOT out, it was sure fun shopping from my lawn with friends on a Sunday!  Who needs Black Friday sales when you can just walk out your front door right? :)  

    I’ve love to show you what I bought, but a lot of it is presents! :)   Needless to say, I picked up a few things! 

Comments (1)

  • Ah. I do miss this kind of thing… shopping on the side of the street and on the lawn. Glad you got some things and hope others bought too so Mike made some money. Love you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *